Jonas Eslao, Julius Redillas, Don Dalmacio – Blanc Gallery

Screen shot 2015-07-06 at 2.25.09 PM

This exhibit opened last 6 June 2015

Screen shot 2015-07-10 at 2.11.02 PM

I look forward to Blanc Gallery openings because it’s on Saturday AND it’s quite near my place. Quite refreshing from all the Makati openings we usually go to.

Screen shot 2015-07-06 at 2.49.55 PM

The first room when you head inside held the show of Jonas Eslao called Apex Predator.

I just read the write-up and let me stress this again : it really enriches your experience of the show if you read the write-ups.

Well. let me think. Some artists (like mwah) don’t really want to put too much meaning out there because (speaking for myself so there will be a change in pronoun from we to I) :

Screen shot 2015-07-10 at 2.14.10 PM

 1. I don’t want to influence your experience of my artwork/show and push my thoughts down your throat. Whatever you felt, thought of, saw, etc when seeing my work is valid because it’s still your experience of my work. (we all lived, experienced, exposed to, taught and are affected by different stuff)

2. Sometimes I do things just because I find it beautiful. Mala “uy maganda yan a” or I’m feeling the blue today.

Screen shot 2015-07-06 at 2.53.39 PM

Okay, enough with Art according to Isabel 101.

In this show, man is the Apex Predator because whenever we kill, we attach a meaning or a reasoning behind it. “Humans come up with all these different terms to justify and rationalize what we do. We assert monopoly over morality, seizing the power to decide which is ethical and not.”**  The artist leaves us with the question if that is enough to make man the Apex Predator?

“In his latest show Apex Predator, Jonas Eslao explores this question as he continues to unmask the hidden anomalies of human nature through social surrealism.”**

Screen shot 2015-07-06 at 3.00.16 PM

The next room held Julius Redillas‘ show, Fable.

TBH reading his write up made me feel like I was in college Lit class again, where I didn’t excel. (WELL. I got a B. pweds na)

Screen shot 2015-07-10 at 2.12.14 PM

The show tackles the images and facades people put out there, the phenomenon of personality cult and the recent craze and need in being famous. The artist uses images that are somewhat familiar and absurd at the same time, human but animalistic.

“‘Fable’ asks us, its viewers, to collate our public image and social media behavior against our respective individual values and purpose. It might show that our facades are a prison cell or a sanctuary. In the case of the latter, it can be viewed as a byproduct of a masochistic disposition in the face of the excesses of social media.”**

Screen shot 2015-07-06 at 2.40.34 PM

The last (and can I call this the main room?) room held Don Dalmacio’s show, And

Screen shot 2015-07-10 at 2.15.59 PM

To be relief, there was no write-up. HAHA

I mean I appreciate the write-ups after reading it, not during because the right side of my brain hasn’t worked since graduation 2012.

Screen shot 2015-07-06 at 3.09.40 PM

Well, what can I say? I was a great show. Loved the colors, good technique, and the one with the palm trees was my personal favorite.

Leave a Reply

